Miguel Atwood-Ferguson tickets

Miguel Atwood-Ferguson: Suite for Ma Dukes

Miguel Atwood-Ferguson tickets
KOKO, London
Thursday 6th Jul 2017 7:00pm
Maximum of 8 tickets
Over 16s only

Buy Tickets for Miguel Atwood-Ferguson: Suite for Ma Dukes


£27.50 inc. booking fee

£25.00 face value

  • Select tickets to display delivery option(s)
  • Tickets Selected
  • Ticket Total £0.00


Performing Artists

  • Doors: 7:00pm
  • Begins: 8:00pm

The music of the massively influential American producer, DJ and rapper J Dilla is re-created as a radical take on contemporary chamber music by LA composer Miguel Atwood-Ferguson. Originally conceived a decade ago, the project was re-invented with a specially assembled 17-piece ensemble for a sold-out, ecstatically received night at the Barbican during the 2017 EFG London Jazz Festival – one the hottest tickets at last year’s Festival.. This is music that demands to be heard again – and will play an exclusive London date on July 6 at Koko.

Cited as an influence on everyone from Mos Def to Flying Lotus, J Dilla’s compositions were years ahead of their time, bursting with unusual samples lifted from their original context and used to create entirely new music, with tricky rhythms and complex time signatures. Starting out as a studio project, Suite for Ma Dukes rearranges Dilla’s music for live instruments, highlighting the breadth and depth of his compositions and showing just how versatile and intricate his music is, even when translated into a wholly different musical language.

The perfect artist to tackle re-arranging J Dilla’s sprawling compositions, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson’s own CV covers an immense amount of musical experience – having worked with everyone from Outkast, Flying Lotus and Gilles Peterson to Sly Stone and Ray Charles, Wayne Shorter and Mulatu Astatke.

This time with a 14-piece group made up of some of today’s most highly talented musicians for this incredible project featuring;

Gareth Lockrane - Flute
Mikey Sluman – Oboe
Tony Kofi – Alto Saxophone
Tom Walsh - Trumpet
George Crowley - Tenor Saxophone
Dave Lee - French Horn
Trevor Mires - Trombone
Richard Henry - Bass Trombone
Alina Bzhezhinska - Harp
Ed Riches - Guitar
Mark de Clive-Lowe - Keyboards
Gabe Noel - Bass Guitar
Jamire Williams - Drums
Miguel Atwood-Ferguson - violin, conductor, arranger

‘as the set progressed, the energy levels crept up and the visceral side of Dilla’s music, the sex and the sleaze, began to emerge…..Atwood-Ferguson’s violin was fire and ice, slicing through the groove’ (Jazz Standard)

Buy Tickets With Confidence

Gigantic are a primary ticket agent and full members of STAR (Secure Tickets from Authorised Retailers)

More info
View venue page


1a Camden High Street

Venue age restrictions:

Over 18s only

Accessibility Information

Customers with special needs are advised to contact the venue directly for more information.

Where a shows age restrction is listed as 14+, under 16's must be accompanied by an adult<br> <br>General Enquiries: <br>0870 4325527 <br> <br>For latest Travel info:<br>www.tfl.gov.uk/journeyplanner<br> <br>Public Transport:<br>The closest Tube station is Mornington Crescent which is just over the road.<br>


View Larger Map